Coming Out of the Darkness

As someone who suffers with chronic pain, I know what it feels like to be surrounded by darkness and I don’t just mean that the lights are turned out! I am talking about the kind of darkness that is present if when the lights are on, a darkness in your heart, that hangs over you, sometimes haunting you. Another word that is often used for this darkness is depression, and it shouldn’t be taken “lightlty”. I think anyone who has dealt with chronic pain has probably also battled depression and knows too well what I am talking about. The horrible thing about depression is that it can lead to thoughts and behaviors that can have fatal results. I know about the reality of these kinds of results all too well. My grandfather committed suicide in March of 1997. I attempted suicide soon after I received the diagnosis of Fibromyalgia in August of 2006. This word, suicide, almost stings when you say it. So I have decided that the prevention of it is a cause worth helping. I have signed up for a walk to support the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. The walk is called AFSP’s 2008 Out of the Darkness Community Walk. I am really excited about having the chance to do something as simple as walking (but not really all that simple for some of us chronic pain sufferers) in an effort to support a great cause. If you would like to check out my fundraising page, please copy and paste the following link:http://afsp.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.participant&eventID=692&participantID=32434. If this cause is something you would like to learn more about please check out the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention at http://www.afsp.org. Also, a place I have turned for great fellowship and support can be found at http://wholelifeliving.ning.com.

written 10.19.08

Leave a Reply

