My Cup Runneth Over

When your cup is full, as in filled to the very rim, what do you find yourself doing when more is added to it, creating an overflow?

Do you panic? Do you call for help? Do you pause, compose yourself, and then attack the obstacle in front of you?

It is interesting when our life is full, to the rim kind of full, and then yet another “thing” is added to it. One moment I felt as if I couldn’t possibly handle one more thing, one more problem, one more downer, and I would be sent over the edge . . . and the next moment . . . that one more thing happens! Oh dear Lord in Heaven, can this be so? Are you really giving me another something big and disappointing to deal with right now?

Yep, no matter where it is coming from, it is here.

So, I have a choice in the matter. Should I climb into my bed, curl up into a ball and just cry and cry . . . I would consider saying yes if it was a catastrophic type of thing added to my cup, but since it is not catastrophic, I am not going to go crawling into bed just yet.

I took action. I remained calm. I chuckled. You have to laugh at the mess before you sometimes. Sometimes, it is humorous! Life is messy, maybe we should play in the dirt?

I sit here typing this with my pajama pants, wet up past my ankles, for I have been trudging through the flood waters in my basement for the last hour and a half. I have been scooping up boxes I normally would never lift. I have been scooting things around to safer spots. I have been watching water stream down my walls and actually spout out of  some areas of epoxied cracks in our foundation.

That epoxy treatment is warrantied for 10 years . . . do you think new jammie pants are covered under that warranty?

Here’s the clencher, the part where you start to understand how my cup is already full. Our home is up for sale. Yep, just listed this past week. We have never seen water in our basement before in the time that we have lived here, just under two years. We put our home up for sale in an effort to get a short sale before we lose the house to foreclosure. Yes, my cup was full tonight, indeed. But along came one more thing!

As I was saying, I have a choice to make now. I can sit and ask God, “why?”, “why us?”, “why now?”, or I could panic and just run around my house crying and saying all kinds of crazy stuff about how awful our life is right now. But I am going to choose something different. I am going to choose peace and gratitude. I am going to first take a muscle relaxer for my aching back, and then I am going to pray to God and thank Him for his abundant gifts! I know He has a plan for good, and this just might somehow have something to do with it. I don’t really know . . . but hey, if it could possibly be something God put in my life, then I have to trust it, I have to trust Him.

So, now that it is about time for me to go curl up in my bed (with some new clean jammies on), and my cup is literally running over, I can still find peace. It is in my choice to trust that God will work this all out for us, one way or another.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.  Psalm 23:5 (KJV)

One thought on “My Cup Runneth Over

  1. You are my hero. Not because you did something that wonderwoman would of done, leap tall buildings but that you did what was right. You could of easily used your bed to hide, hoping that the mess would magicly disappear but you looked at it as, OK so Crap happens all the time, to people every where. Sooooo…… What am I going to do about it? You became your own hero Amy by choosing to take a chance at tring a differnt approach attitude wise. I am so honored to know you and to watch the amazing change that this moment’s trials has tested you with. God has strengthen you and it shows, God is so proud right now and so am I. You are really praising God in this storm, not just emotionally, spiritually but physically too since the storm actually came right in Your home. You are an inspiration to us all, My Jammie wearing hero. Love you sweet friend of mine. – Joy

Leave a Reply

