Are You Relaxed?

I can tell you this . . . I am not relaxed.

What is your world filled with right now? I hope it is peaceful, painless, and maybe even a prince or princess is involved, but in my world there are stressors galore. No spa days here. (I might seem like I am whining here for a moment, reality bites, okay?) My life is not glamourous, but I can still say that it is good.

Psalm 4:8 (NIV)

I will lie down and sleep in peace,
for you alone, O LORD,
make me dwell in safety.

It is in His promises that I find rest and comfort, but I have to truthfully admit that sometimes it is difficult for me to get there. It can be hard to recall His promises in times of stress. Sometimes, before I go looking into the Word of God, or before I pray, I must admit, the stress has already taken a toll.

As a person challenged with chronic pain (fibromyalgia), and depression among other things, I need to make full use of the gifts God has given us to aid in stress relief. If you are like me, you have read or heard the recommendations time and time again for exercise,Β  diet changes, adequate sleep, and the like. These things are of the utmost of importance in order to combat stress and be healthy, but I was reminded tonight as I explored a new friend’s blog, of a relaxation technique called Guided Imagery.

Tony, the fore-mentioned friend, has a blog post and a page that gives great description of what Guided Imagery is, as well as a 20 minute guided meditation you can listen to. I am really looking forward to listening to this and practicing this technique. Being still is not easy for me. My mind seems to be in over-drive most of the time, and often, unfortunately lacking in focus. It can even feel scary to be quiet for too long, for fear that my thoughts might turn to something that will trigger unwanted anxiety or “flashbacks” of memories I rather not recall. But in order to learn to truly relax, I believe I must first learn to be quiet and still.

I invite you to take this journey with me, as I will attempt to find some time away from the toddler and tween that are most frequently by my side. I hope to practice this, as it has been recommended to me many times before, and I hope to chronicle my experience to share with you.

In the meantime, as I am resting in the unknown, coping with pain, and doing my best to turn my cares over to the One who can really handle them, I pray you will find peace and relaxation in your life.

Leave a Reply

