Talking to Strangers OK for Those with Chronic Pain

It’s time to renew, refresh and restore the optimism that I hope to share with others who are dealing with chronic pain!

This week has been challenging for me on almost every level and the support I have received from “strangers” has almost been as incredible as the support I have received from friends and family. I’m not so sure that anyone is really a stranger to me anymore.

I grew up in a time when “Don’t Talk to Strangers” was probably one of the most over-used and well-rehearsed warnings given to children, along with “Just Say No!”, as a tool to help protect one’s self from the dangers of the world. But right now, it would be more dangerous for me to remain too isolated, especially when from the comfort of my home, I have the opportunity to connect with people all over the world!

I have found the support and kindness of my on-line friends to be an enormous blessing in my life. I have established connections and friendships that are just as near and dear to me as any that I have met in the flesh! God has brought across my path some of the most courageous, bright, and faithful people that I believe exist on our planet. It is truly miraculous that I can be “social” while I am in my jammies! (The best part is that I don’t have to worry about my make-up, my outfit, or if I am wearing the right shoes!)

The place that flows daily with abundant blessings and showers me with love and acceptance on a continuous basis is the Living Whole with Chronic Pain Network. It is a family away from home for me. My friends there are a part of my life, woven into the fabric of my every day now. We share triumphs, failures, hurts and heartache. We share prayer requests, Bible studies, and questions about our faith. We don’t judge each other or question each other’s theology or choices of church or denomination. We love one another, as best as we can, with our limitations of living life filled with chronic pain and illness.

Everyone has a different set of challenges and circumstances there. But all of us know what it is like to face another day with pain. And we draw courage and strength from one another and in each others presence, as we praise God together for the blessings He gives us in our illness. It is truly beautiful.

I invite you to be social. . . talk to strangers (with caution, lol) and allow your life to be filled with friendship and fellowship. Chronic pain can so easily lead to isolation and depression. I urge you to make use of the technology at your fingertips and get to know others who “get you”. You will be so glad that you did!

You are always welcome to check out the network I am involved in at http://wholelifeliving.ning.com. Another great place I recommend for Christians is Rest Ministries Sunroom. And, recently, I have found Twitter to be a source of endless possibilities for friendship, fellowship and inspiration. God really does work in mysterious ways!

I need to send a special thank you to all of those who have taken the time to call me, comment on my blog, send me a cheerful note through twitter, and other acts of kindness this week. My heart is so happy to know that our world has not turned it’s back on the hurting individuals, but yet, in our world exists so many precious people who care and choose to love one another, even if we are “strangers”. God Bless You!

P.S. I must just add: Please do be careful on-line, do use common sense and be safe. Try to avoid giving your exact place of residence and full name until you really feel it is a safe thing to do. I am not an expert in on-line safety, but I do believe it is always wise to be cautious.   🙂

3 thoughts on “Talking to Strangers OK for Those with Chronic Pain

  1. So right on, abeliever! I was just thinking today that my cyberfriends have been much better friends to me than most of my ‘real-life’ counterparts. After so many years disabled/ill, most of my friends have moved on. I competely recommend the fellowship of sites such as wholelifeliving and restmistries; these ppl who are ppl who really ‘get it’ and know how to be fantastic friends.

    take care!
    ‘cali’

  2. He is indeed RISEN!!!! Alleluia! Jesus is RISEN!! And because He is ALIVE we too can LIVE WHOLE!Because He LIVES we can offer LIFE to those who are feeling like their life is dead.

    2 Cornithians 1:2-7 reads:

    “Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
    Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer.
    And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.”

    I love that Paul tells us here that our suffering, which is comforted by God Himself, can have purpose! Our suffering is not for NOTHING! Paul wrote: “so that we can comfort those in ANY trouble….” Emotional. Physical. Spiritual.

    I also have been so blessed by the COMMUNITY made availabl at Living Whole with Chronic Pain, Amy! Thank you for comforting me when I have been in “all kinds” of suffering. Like so many others there, you have been the STRANGER who became a friend to me.

  3. I have a painful, incurable neck disease and don’t know what I would do without my online friends and supporters. It hurts to use the internet, and sometimes I can’t, but when I do it’s worth the neck and shoulder pain ~ Allison

Leave a Reply

