Climbing

Since my last post, you might be wondering how I’m doing . . .

I have continued to hold on and seek hope. Actually I didn’t have to look too far.  Offers of support and encouragement came quickly as sweet and kind people read my post. Interestingly enough, the first place I visited after writing my post was my “home away from home”, Living Whole with Chronic Pain Network and I noticed Kimberly, the network creator, had updated the main page with an announcement of our next on-line Bible study to commence in the beginning of May.

Of coarse, you may have already guessed it, God’s timing is perfect, and the choice of topic is perfect for me, as well. If you are home-bound, or spend a lot of time at home due to chronic pain/illness, then you might want to check out the Bible Study, and join us if you like.

I’m not going to sugar-coat things and tell you that all is well and perfect now. It’s not. It was a nightmare of a weekend truly, in many ways. But some glimmers of hope started to sparkle so quickly after I wrote here in my blog, announced the post on twitter, and right after my visit to Living Whole. . . Then today. . . my daughter and I went to the movies together. What a treat for us to get out just the two of us!

We went to see “Hannah Montana The Movie”. For most adults this might now seem like the greatest choice, but for me and my daughter, it was just what we wanted and needed. When Isabel joined the Hannah Montana/Miley Cyrus bandwagona year or more ago, I jumped right on with her. It was a fun way for us to spend time together, singing songs, watching the new episodes of the sitcom on Disney channel, etc. I have a great love of music and it became the first real time she and I could enjoy and experience music together. I took her to her first concert last year when Hannah Montana came to town, and it was a huge event. So, seeing the movie today was fitting for us.

I was impressed with the themes that were carried out through the movie and I have always appreciated the voice of Miley Cyrus and her songwriting skills. Some of it is clearly just for the pre-teen/young girl crowd, but a surprising amount of her music and lyrics have been quite meaningful, at least to me. I am pretty open minded when it comes to music as I like almost all genres and truly appreciate music as a whole.

When I first heard Miley Cyrus’ new song, “The Climb”, I liked it right away, but the more I listened to it, the more I enjoyed it. I took the opportunity to explain to my daughter some important messages that I heard in the song, and after today’s movie, I was able to personalize it even more for her and myself.

I am struggling, but seeking to hold on to hope. I am on a journey. To where that journey leads exactly, I don’t know. But I do know, that no matter what, it is not where I am going right now that matters as much as what I am learning along the way.

Enjoy the lyrics to “The Climb” and maybe you will check out Miley Cyrus singing it, I think it is truly beautiful.

The Climb

I can almost see it
That dream I’m dreaming but
There’s a voice inside my head sayin,
You’ll never reach it,
Every step I’m taking,
Every move I make feels
Lost with no direction
My faith is shaking but I
Got to keep trying
Got to keep my head held high

There’s always going to be another mountain
I’m always going to want to make it move
Always going to be an uphill battle,
Sometimes I’m gonna to have to lose,
Ain’t about how fast I get there,
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb

The struggles I’m facing,
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down but
No I’m not breaking
I may not know it
But these are the moments that
I’m going to remember most yeah
Just got to keep going
And I,
I got to be strong
Just keep pushing on, cause

There’s always going to be another mountain
I’m always going to want to make it move
Always going to be an uphill battle,
Sometimes I’m gonna to have to lose,
Ain’t about how fast I get there,
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb (yeah)

There’s always going to be another mountain
I’m always going to want to make it move
Always going to be an uphill battle,
Sometimes you going to have to lose,
Ain’t about how fast I get there,
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb (yeah yeah ea ea)

Keep on moving
Keep climbing
Keep the faith baby
It’s all about
It’s all about
The climb
Keep the faith
Keep your faith

“The Climb” by Miley Cyrus

2 thoughts on “Climbing

  1. I heard Miley sing this on “American Idol” a couple of weeks ago. It really is a great song. And NO, I am NOT a Miley fan LOL :)Bit YES! I am a IDOL fan. I don’t like the “try out” episodes…but I like the show once it gets going with the actual contestants. The musicians this year are just incredible. Idol has never had such a great mix of genres or talent. Oh! Sorry. We were talking about Miley! LOL! And absolutely! CLIMBING is a great song….really good.

    BRAVO for being such an awesome mom.

Leave a Reply

