Cooks for a Cause

Tonight, in the company of some dear twitter friends…an idea emerged. We were discussing hot chocolate and then @cinammonswirly came up with the idea of collaborating for a cookbook and having the proceeds go towards suicide prevention efforts…I immediately jumped on board. I came up with a rather silly idea of a cookbook title and @cinnamonswirly came up with title of  “Cooks for a Cause”! I just love it…so with her permission, I am writing this blog post so that all who care about this cause (as you probably already know I do) can submit recipes that we can use to create this beautiful gift of love in the name of suicide prevention.

Please, make a little note with your recipe as to why you feel drawn to sharing and contributing to this cause…it will make it that much more meaningful when the project comes together. Lives will be honored, struggles and survival celebrated and hope will endure through our message to the world about suicide prevention and it’s importance!

I will update the post as we have more to add… this is just the very beginning stages of our idea… but please, get started with the submissions. Don’t hold back, maybe we should go the route of “comfort food”…it just has to be something that is comforting to you. No matter what we will cover beverages, appetizers, main courses/casseroles, desserts, etc…

Let’s do this… together!

(Don’t forget to follow us on twitter at @Abeeliever and @cinnamonswirly @KateFromage)

Update: (already) New Blog introduced just for “Cooks for a Cause”

5 thoughts on “Cooks for a Cause

  1. Dish Name: Shrimp Scampi with an Indian Touch
    Serves: 2-3
    Preparation Time:10 mins (To boil the Pasta)
    Cooking Time:5-7 mins
    Calories: Clueless (Heck, just enjoy!!)

    Ingredients:
    200 gms Penne Pasta
    400 gms Medium-sized Shrimps (Deveined)
    1.5 cup mixed frozen vegetables
    1 teaspoon whole black pepper seeds
    2-3 cloves
    2-3 green cardamom
    1 Bay Leaf
    1-2 cinnamon sticks
    5 tablespoons Olive oil

    Method:
    1. Boil Pasta in water and keep aside.
    2. In a non-stick pan, heat olive oil.
    3. When the oil is warm, add the whole peppers, cardamom, cloves, bay leaf and cinnamon sticks
    4. When the pepper begins to crackle, add, the frozen vegetables and shrimp.
    5. Add salt to taste and saute.
    6. Cover pan and leave the contents to soften at medium heat.(5 minutes)
    7. Add the boiled pasta and stir for 2 minutes making sure the pasta doesn’t break
    8. Serve with garnish of choice (I prefer finely chopped green coriander leaves)

    Tada!!

  2. Mother’s Cucumber Salad (“Relish”)

    Yield:
    Approximately 9 16-fl.oz. and 1 12-fl.oz. canning jars
    Recipe can be halved, if desired.

    Basic Ingredients:
    18 large cucumbers (18 cups)
    12 white onions (9 cups)
    Salt

    Advance Preparation:
    Peel and quarter the cucumbers, and take out the seeds (if any). Dice cucumbers and onions, and sprinkle with salt. (If using a grinder, use coarsest setting.) Cover and let stand 24 hours; drain.

    Marinade Ingredients:
    1 quart (32 fl.oz.) vinegar
    1 cup water (for mixing)
    4 cups white sugar
    4 tablespoons mustard
    4 tablespoons flour
    2 teaspoons turmeric
    2 teaspoons curry power
    1 teaspoon white pepper

    Preparation:
    Sterilize jars.

    Heat vinegar. Mix dry ingredients, then stir in water. Add to hot vinegar, and bring the mixture to a boil. Add the cucumbers and onions, and return to a boil. Boil about 10 minutes.

    Scoop into sterilized jars. Let stand until cool. Seal and store. Refrigerate, after opening.

  3. Mother’s Chili Sauce

    Yield:
    Estimate: 6 16-fl.oz. canning jars

    Ingredients:
    12 large tomatoes
    1 large onion
    ½ cup cider vinegar
    1 tablespoon salt
    Brown sugar (typical ratio: 2 cups sugar to 3 cups vinegar; ⅔ – 1 cup sugar to 1 cup vinegar; ⅓ – ½ cup sugar to ½ cup vinegar)
    ¼ teaspoon each of allspice, ground cloves, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg
    Optional: 3 or 4 peaches

    Preparation:
    Sterilize jars. Place spices in cheesecloth pack.

    Option 1: Combine all ingredients in large pot, and boil until thickened.
    Option 2: Combine all ingredients in large open roasting pan, and bake at low temperature until thickened.

    Scoop mixture into sterilized jars. Cool, then seal. Refrigerate, after opening.

    Alternate ingredients (vinegar-free):
    2 green peppers
    2 onions
    16 large tomatoes
    1 ½ cups peach juice
    3 tablespoons lemon juice
    1 cup brown sugar
    ¾ teaspoon each of allspice, ground cloves, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg

  4. Amy,

    I’m sorry to leave this message here but after what I just discovered, I feel I have no choice. I just discovered that Nora has made 2 lists following my impostor. (You had already done 1 first).

    I have zero way to communicate with you and Nora since I am not using twitter. My twitter impostor started posing as me October 10th and that identity thief is still posing as me.

    You are Nora both have lists following the identity thief posing as me on twitter. I don’t know if you have comments moderation set up here or not.

    If you do, there’s no need to publish this comment. If you don’t, oh well. There’s nothing I can do about it. Except ask you to please delete it when you can.

    After exhaustive attempts to personally notify as many of my then 600+ followers as I could via twitter, I decided I had to stop using twitter. (I have since blocked a slew of accounts but it was still far too many people for me to reach individually in the short time I had from when my account was “cloned” to when I stopped using twitter).

    Three of the four lists following the impostor are either you or Nora. I would greatly appreciate it if you could block and report my impostor (which is the account your list follows).

    There is an option on twitter to block and report with one click.

    I don’t know if undoing lists is harder to do or not since I have had nothing to do with lists, which didn’t exist when I stopped using twitter.

    Please do not publicly tweet about this impostor situation. Please do notify Nora but please don’t discuss it publicly. I would greatly appreciate it if you would both block and report this identity thief.

    Nora, ironically, was one of the first people to learn of my acct getting “cloned” because she was online in the middle of the night when I discovered it and she & I had exchanged tweets then.

    Please do not send any tweets with either the real acct name (mine) or the impostor acct name. Please don’t tweet about this situation. Please ask the same of Nora.

    If you have any questions, feel free to leave me a blog comment. You can just mark it “don’t publish” if it’s a message for just me.

    Thank you in advance for your prompt attention to this matter. This individual is using my face, my blog link, the same twitter page background to copy mine, etc.

    Thank you,

    Jeanne

    P.S. One to Six should be clear on things because they wrote back to me a couple of weeks back. So, last I knew, One to Six had already blocked the impostor.

Leave a Reply

