Shifting

I find it so wonderfully amazing how we all really do need each other. If we are left to ourselves, our own devices, our own thought processes for too long we get stuck. At least, this is what happens to me.

I am grateful beyond words for a shift that began in me in May of 2009 (BreakThrough) and it continues to be working in my life. I continue to fall and get back up as I adjust and open my eyes to the process. I am without words when I think of the gratitude that I have for my very own brother who urged me to begin this process and for his continued assistance along the way. I am blown away by the potential life has for me! (Did I really just say that?) I am very much still learning to awaken to the the possibilities, to my new life “living loved and loving life”.

You know what I am discovering? (with help)

I don’t have to live life defined by my pain.

It may seem simple. It may be a no-brainer to you, but this realization carries more weight than gold in it for me. I am beginning to understand that the way in which I identify with my pain and my diagnosis, although it gives me a great sense of belonging and also purpose in many ways,  is keeping me from embracing my true identity. My true sense of value and worth comes not from my challenges or my pain, but from just being me!

The questions that I am left with are “Who am I if I am not defined by my illnesses? Who am I if I am not someone living with chronic pain, fibromyalgia, ptsd, depression, anxiety, etc?” I may still be struggling with these challenges, but they are not who I am. These things are not where I need to seek out and find my value.

My value is intrinsic. My value is inherent. I am loved. I am lovable. I am valuable, just for being, as are you.

I am. You are. We are.

I feel things shifting.

12 thoughts on “Shifting

  1. What a *b e a u t i f u l* declaration!!! You are amazing.. “just for being”. I have never known a more lovable person, virtually or otherwise, than you, Darlin’. You are invaluable & I most certainly love you!!!

    This is sensational.. wow! Wow!! WOW!!! This excites me : )

  2. Amy, it has been a delight to be part of your journey. I would say “the process”keeps going and bringing “healing” in ways that go far beyond removing physical pain. I am certain that no one in your circle of connections defines you by your pain or its sources. Glad you are finding ways to not do that either.

    Thank you for sharing your heart.

    Blessings.
    Dr. Paul

  3. Amy, What a wonderful testament of what can happen after attending Breakthrough. I have experienced much of the same thing since attending BT in August 2008. I learned that it is okay to fall, that you will get back up, and most times you will be better than ever.

  4. Amy, this is especially meaningful to me as I face going to the doctor on Monday to potentially be officially diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I too do not want to be defined by the struggles I have but for who I am. My experience with Breakthrough is helping me to do that.

  5. You continue to inspire and delight us Amy.

    I am so proud to have walked a few miles with you on your amazing journey.

    I’m trying to apply some of the things you mentioned, especially not being “defined” by my challenges.

    We love you so much and cherish your friendship and advocacy.

    Abiding love and Koala hugs to you and yours

    and on we go…

  6. When I fall I will pick myself up dust myself off and start all over again. We follow these from the time we are born no matter what life throws our way good bad or unknown. When we first met on twitter Amy I never knew you by your illness any of them and until you revealed them to me would not have guessed. I liked you and came to love your spirit and you as you are the loving cheerful smiling you that you are. The joy you give goes beyond words. I only hope that I can be as inspirational as you have been to me. Life love loving living is you.

  7. Amy,

    I am honored to have walked with you in part of that shift. You are wiser than you know and certainly have insight and sensitivity into the pain of peoples’ souls. Your perception in that area is a gift that you have shared with others as you have made even yourself transparent. It certainly goes without saying that Breakthrough benefited us to the hilt, but I am glad to have had a front row seat experience in watching your shift.

  8. This is such a beautiful post. In my opinion, it holds the “meaning of life.” Discovering who we are, how we want to experience our lives, (defining ourselves by what we choose, not by things that happen to us) and sharing and celebrating our understanding with others.

    Thank you.

  9. What a truely beautiful post! I’m so glad to have come across your blog, and look forward to reading more!

    (((gentle hugs)))

Leave a Reply

