The Number Everyone Should Know

I have had it memorized for some time now, at least a year and half, maybe longer… but I didn’t know it when I needed it most.

I’m referring to Lifeline 1-800-273-TALK. Lifeline is a national suicide prevention crisis line. They are celebrating their 2millionth call today.

There is no way to know exactly how many lives have been changed and even saved by this service, but what we do know is that it is needed and people need to know about it.

There have been two times in my life where I have reached the point of taking action to end my life and there have been countless others where I have felt tormented and filled with an anguish that I did not think I could bare any longer. During none of these times did I know or have a phone number to call where I felt safe sharing what I was going through. But now, I have it memorized. I have yet to use itΒ  for myself (because thankfully I have not needed it since knowing about it), but I have recommended it to countless others. I have heard feedback that the people on the other end of the line at Lifeline were nothing short of helpful and perhaps even likened to the form of angels.

Our lives are too valuable to leave to chance, so precious that we need to make sure all are aware of this Lifeline, a phone number that can be called when you fear for a friend or loved one, or when you yourself may be struggling. It’s a phone call, as simple as that, and it can make ALL the difference.

I urge you to share this post with others. Let others know about this resource and that 1-800-273-TALK exists. Share an outstretched hand to those who are hurting or may be hurting in the future. It could be a matter of life or death.

What are the Warning Signs of Suicide?

You can participate in honoring Lifeline’s 2millionth call today by sharing this post, writing your own post, switching your background to light green, and tweeting with the hashtag #2millionth.

P.S. This is my 100th post on Una Vita Bella, I couldn’t be happier that it is being used for suicide prevention efforts!

4 thoughts on “The Number Everyone Should Know

  1. Thanks for posting this. It is important to remember that there are people out there who can help. Sometimes when darkness falls, you can feel so overwhelmed by such self pity that those closest to you are unreachable. Sometimes it takes beautiful strangers to remind you of life’s worth.

  2. When it comes to pain, it’s easy to think of it as a physical manifestation of a health problem. But sometimes folks forget that pain can be emotional as well. Thanks for posting this valuable number; it’s yet another tool to fight pain and save a life.

    Regards,

    Steve
    Pain Elimination

  3. May I just add a few links and numbers for the UK:

    The Papyrus (Preventing Young Suicide) HopeLine is: 0800 068 41 41 – see this page for their opening hours

    SupportLine has some links here.

    And the best-known service is the Samaritans, whose number is 0845 790 9090.

    Found this through Jeanne’s Chronic Healing site.

Leave a Reply

