Self-Care is Where It’s At

LIVING Self-Care

Just a few days ago I was directed to this site: Living Self-Care. I am so happy I came across it, even though I joined the challenge late, I knew it was something for me. In fact, self-care is for all of us!

The self-care challenge gives you a way to practice self-care each day for twenty-one days, but beyond that the coordinators of this effort have decided to keep it going and make a full-time commitment out of the site! I can’t wait to see what is in store and how they will be instrumental in my self-care practices in the future. In addition to the site you can follow Living Self-Care on Twitter and on their facebook page.

Today is day twenty in the challenge and the focus is on the many gifts our lives have to offer and gratitude.Β  I love that! I try hard to focus on the small pleasures, the abundance of gifts in my life despite the challenges. I have my moments where it is hard to focus and see any, but I am always drawn back to gratitude and peace when I focus on the little things. Just the song of the birds outside can lift me so much if I pay attention. I am truly grateful for their company when I am in pain or feel stuck inside because of feeling ill or low on energy.

I am learning more and more just how important self-care is… it’s like one of the proverbial “Aha Moments” that we hear about all the time, but for me it’s genuine. I’ve heard it said a hundred times, “you can’t love anyone else until you love yourself”, “you must take care of you first, then you will be more available for others”, etc. But until I saw the glimmer of comfort and peace that really comes from taking care of me first, I didn’t get it. If I am not careful, I could easily lose it, too. So it’s very important to focus on this and pay attention. Using tools like the self-care challenge can really help me to do that, so I am on board!

Another favorite blogger of mine has decided to start her own challenge personally, inspired greatly by the challenge I mentioned above. You can also follow her journey as well at Voice in Recovery. She is very inspirational in my life and every night on Twitter she shares her gratitude list and calls it #gratefuls. You can follow her on Twitter here: VoiceinRecovery.

We are not alone in our efforts to implement more self-care in our lives and there are great resources to help us. It’s so vitally important to purposefully put self-care at the forefront!

Be inspired, and take care of you!

2 thoughts on “Self-Care is Where It’s At

  1. Wow. I am humbled by this! I am SOOO glad you are taking time to do this. This challenge has been WAY harder than I thought. I honestly think I put ME On the backburner, even though I tell everyone to make YOU a priority. I do make a big deal of self care on twitter, because I always have to remind myself to do it myself πŸ™‚ We get busy, and often just forget, without ill will wished on ourselves. By doing this challenge I feel I am making ME a priority and even if it is only 10 minutes, that is wonderful.

    • Isn’t it amazing how hard it can be to take our own advice! You are awesome Kendra, and taking 10 minutes for you is wonderful… you deserve a lot of YOU time! Thank you so much for commenting and for being the amazing woman that you are. ❀

Leave a Reply

