5 Tips to Help You Get to the Other Side of Pain

Bromo-Seltzer advertisement for headache medic...
Image via Wikipedia

The last couple of days have been tough. I’ve been experiencing bad headaches (more like one headache that won’t go away) and a lot of pain, in my body…in my legs, my neck, my arms, my hands, my back… I know you get it, just about everywhere!

It’s hard not to feel like giving up when you spend a couple of days like this, it is hard to imagine being able to do anything and enjoy it. I’ve mentioned this before, but when the pain hits, the depression comes creeping right in behind it. I am blessed, I have good days and bad days… so I have the opportunity to experience a kind of reprieve. It doesn’t feel like I am going to when I am in the midst of it, but it will come. For those who experience chronic pain, it is so utterly important to have support in place and help with dealing with the mental health issues that accompany it. It’s just part of the deal, our bodies and brains are connected, remember?

So, while I’ve managed to get through these last couple of days, and it feels like I’ve just barely made it at moments, it’s important to remind myself what I need to do to keep from sinking.

*I remind myself it is not permanent, even though the condition may be permanent, the intensity of the pain is not.

*I keep myself focused on gratitude. Okay, I forget sometimes, but at the end of the day, focusing on the good stuff helps me to keep it all in perspective, even the little things (like pumpkins) put me in a better mood.

*Connect: I have to connect with others and especially others who understand, even a virtual hug on Twitter helps.

*I avoid making things worse by eating too much convenience food or beverages. When you feel sick it is impossible or nearly impossible to prepare food, but even keeping the quick stuff healthy makes recuperation a much speedier process.

*Get outside of yourself: watching tv or movies, reading to or playing with a small child (or just cuddling), talking to a friend on the phone, it all helps to take the focus off of the pain, even if it is just for a few moments, it helps.

What do you do to help you get by when the pain pays a visit? How do you keep yourself focused on the better moments to come?

One thought on “5 Tips to Help You Get to the Other Side of Pain

Leave a Reply

