Let’s Talk Turkey, No Bull

A Turkey.
Image via Wikipedia

I’m not the first person to acknowledge this, nor will I be the last, but I think it’s important to say… I understand.

Holidays can be hard, difficult, they can downright suck for some people. While for the majority of us there is so much to be thankful for and great gratitude truly does fill our heart, there are so many who are unable to feel that or experience it, or even if they do, it’s still just hard.

Most Thanksgivings I am overwhelmed with exhaustion at some point during the day, often due to a combination of just being me with fibromyaglia and complete sensory overload (translate anxiety) due to the large amount of people and family gathered in one place. Large social gatherings are tough for me, even with family. There is so much preparation to do in advance as well as during the day, that it’s tiring, even for those who don’t have fibromyalgia.

I am happy that this year will be a very small and intimate Thanksgiving for the most part. I think it is going to be a lot of fun! My body is sore this morning and I am having a tough time getting in motion, but once I move, I’m sure it will be better.

I think of the many, many people who are dealing with a condition much more severe than mine at the moment, or who are in a great deal of pain today. I know that misery and I pray for no one to experience it, especially today. But, the reality is there are still many people in pain, in the hospital, in treatment facilities for mental health issues, facing all kinds of pain today. I am humbled and thankful that I am not in that spot, today. But there have been Thanksgivings where I have been “there”. I have been inpatient for depression during the Thanksgiving holiday once before. I have had holidays ruined by pain.

For those who are in that place of pain, I offer this…

I know it stinks. I know it’s horrible. I wish you comfort and relief and I pray that your pain will be lessened, that you will know you are not alone today.

Although I cannot offer, nor am I qualified in any remote manner to offer, medical advice of any kind, I can give you this “medicine”… you are loved and cared for. You may feel completely alone, but there are people who care and understand. I believe I am one of them. No bull.

Be good to you today, only do what you can, and perhaps you can look to the “little things” for big doses of thankfulness. That is where I often find it the most.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Turkey, No Bull

  1. Wow, Amy – you described my experience of the holidays for many years, but not having seen it from this perspective, I hadn’t really gotten what was going on. Sensory overload – lots of family, motion, noise, excited kids – my PTSD was totally triggered. By later in the day, I used to go for a walk on the golf course with one of my nieces, to let them tell me all about what was going on in their world. But now I can see that it was decompression time for me – to bleed off all the stress! Thanks for helping me see this!

    I do agree the holidays can be very painful and stressful for many – thank you for giving depth perception on why!

    Your devoted fan!
    Dan

  2. Hi, Amy –

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to leave such a nice comment!

    Your Thanksgiving post is wonderful – I think we can all relate to the difficulty of large family gatherings and holidays.

    I hope you were able to enjoy your holiday.

    Sue

    • Thank you Sue!
      It turned out to be a lovely holiday. I hope yours was too. I just added your blog to my blogroll, hopefully others will be lead to your blog via mine!
      Best wishes,
      Amy

Leave a Reply

