Getting Sick or Is It “Just” Fibromyalgia?

Today I felt really icky. I know I was behind on sleep and I was a bit stressed out, but some of the symptoms I was experiencing were hard to decipher. Quite frequently I feel fatigued, lethargic, and have an aching body with Fibromyalgia, therefore it can be difficult to tell the difference between “coming down with something” and a flare or bad day.

Today, in addition to the symptoms mentioned above, I had a dull headache, some sinus pressure and my throat and neck felt a bit swollen. It felt like the beginnings of a cold or sinus something… but how to really tell? I made sure to drink a lot of water and I didn’t push myself hard. I did some activity around the house, enough to feel a little bit productive, but not too much. As the afternoon hours hit and my body was really aching, I could not refuse the nap that came knocking at my door. I napped and actually felt a little bit better afterward. As the night continued, I continued to feel better, not an unusual pattern for me.

So now, I sit here fatigued again, and wondering “what just happened?”.  Did I just have a bad fibro day or should I expect some of these same symptoms tomorrow, or… should I brace myself for feeling even worse?

Have you experienced this kind of fibro confusion? Does it usually turn out to be a bad day? How do you tell when a different illness or bug has bitten? What kind of preventative measures do you take when you feel that another illness could be approaching?

5 thoughts on “Getting Sick or Is It “Just” Fibromyalgia?

  1. Good morning!
    I definitely have days like this and yesterday was one of them! I try to be a little productive as well, take some advil, some fish oil, a multivitamin, drink plenty of water, and a little rest. Thankfully today I feel a little better, although the sore throat is still here!
    What I *love* are the specific little joint aches that jump from day to day. One day it’s a thumb, the next day it might be a toe, lol!
    Hope you are feeling better this morning too!
    Bernice
    http://livingthebalancedlife.com/2010/a-graceful-swan/

    • It seems I have caught something, but it is really hard to tell the difference sometimes! Thank you so much for your comments and for visiting. I love hearing how others handle similar situations and knowing I am not alone!

  2. You are right, it’s hard to decipher most days. If I feel like I’m starting to get anything, I will get on the echinachea immediately and increase the vitamin C. Does it work? I don’t know but I think if nothing else it cuts the sick time in half..if you do end up getting something. I’ve always been prone to catching things easily but it can’t hurt to try! 😉 Hopefully it was ‘just’ a fibro day. Catching something means too many fibro days!

    • I had another awful day today, I think I have caught a bug. My head feels all wrong, hurting, aching, full feeling… I think I need to hop on the Vitamin C train!
      Thank you so much for sharing and for commenting. It means a lot to me!

Leave a Reply

