Currently Pondering

Thought I would take a moment to share what is going on in my life and what’s on my mind lately.

Last night on the #mhsm chat we discussed the holiday blues. It was a good conversation and a lot of great ideas were shared, you can see transcripts at http://wthashtag.com/mhsm. I typically struggle with a post-holiday let down period. And you know, the big day is coming, and what will I do the day after? This year I want to be proactive and plan ahead for this possible “down” time that could come after the holidays. It don’t believe it is about disappointment, I think it that adrenaline surge that comes from preparing, and then when it’s all over, I feel anxious and unsure of what to do with myself. I hope that in my brainstorming I can come up with some more great ideas to help me ease off of the holiday high and back into “normal” life.

The stress seems unrelenting in life. It just keeps coming. From marital tension, to financial burdens, to concerns regarding my children’s health, it comes from every direction! I began a Relaxation Response Challenge on WEGO Health, and like most challenges, I started off very well-intentioned but have not been able to participate every single day. I have, however, been working on it and will continue to do so. I believe that learning how to practice living in a more relaxed state will make a huge difference in the way I feel emotionally and physically.

I am pondering too, what is most stressful in my life, what do I need to re-prioritize? Where do I need to cut my losses and where is my time, energy and effort best placed? How can I create less stress in certain relationships, how can I be more actively involved in creating a peaceful environment for me and my family? What activities should I continue engaging in on a volunteer basis, where do I need to look to create more income?

In order to have another year ahead free of debilitating depression, (woot! for a year free from severe depression!) then I need to approach each day with that intention. If I want to live a life with less physical pain then I need to be intentional about my choices, those that affect me physically and mentally.

Are you thinking of all of these things too? I know stress is not unique, and I have many blessings to count! But, I want to be proactive and make the best of the year ahead. I also want to leave behind me any negatives of 2010. How will you be doing this in your life?

4 thoughts on “Currently Pondering

  1. I never heard of this twitter hashtag conversation before. I saw your blog mentioned on psychcentral.com, and decided to come and check you out. Seems we have quite a bit in common.

    The Relaxation Response Challenge looks interesting too. I hadn’t heard of that either. I have been involved in the #FEELGOOD10 from feelgooder.com on twitter. It’s a nice thing to do during those stressful days where all I can focus on is what’s wrong and what needs to be fixed or improved.

    Congrats on getting top blog of 2010 on psych central! 🙂 It’s lovely to “meet” you.

    • Thank you so much for visiting and commenting, and for your congratulatory remarks. I am so thrilled to be a part of Psychcentral’s list! Even better is connecting with people like you. I have never heard of #FEELGOOD10, I look forward to learning more about it. Since you are on twitter, I will hope to connect with you there and continue to share our journey’s together!
      It’s wonderful to “meet” you, too. =)

Leave a Reply

