My Life in Pajamas

Living life in pajamas has its upsides. Comfort is number one. It sounds really pleasant, like all of those commercials for work at home opportunities that tout “I can wear my pajama pants and slippers to work and no one ever notices!” But in reality, living my life in pajamas hasn’t been “all that”.

I’ve always loved a comfy pair of pj’s. Who doesn’t? Clothes that feel like they were made for relaxation are such a treat. My favorite ensemble has been, for years now… cotton pajama pants and a sleep tee ( a t-shirt made specifically for sleeping in). More often than not you will find me in an old T-shirt from college or from a fundraiser that happens to co-ordinate somehow with my jammie pants. I’ll never forget my pink Sig Ep Luau t-shirt from a fraternity party my freshman year of college. It got a lot of great use as a nightshirt and I believe we had to part ways when the shirt was around 10 years old. I am still mourning that loss. Another favorite of mine were a lovely pair of blue, white, and gray striped pajama pants that I wore and washed so many times that the fabric became very thin. One day, I sat down on the couch and the pants split at the seem, straight up the rear end. It was a sad moment saying goodbye to those, too.

I am very particular about my jammie pants. They need to be a certain kind of cotton to be the “just right” kind. I believe my absolute favorite are poplin. They remain cool and soft. They glide with the sheets, never giving me the feeling of being tangled up in the covers. My current favorite poplin cotton pajama pants have polka dots on them, which make them even that much more special. I have two pairs of those actually. The problem is … I’ve worn them too much. They are fraying, the adorable coordinating striped ties are falling out. Did I tell you they are pink with polka dots? I have white ones, too.

But here’s the thing…when you wear your pajamas too much it means you’re not living your life enough. It means that I’m not leaving the house as much as one should. I’m not involved in community the way I would like to be. Too much pajama wearin’ leaves you with a lot of social engagements either never formed or unfulfilled. It means, I am in pain, either emotional or physical more often than I’m not. I love my pajamas, but I think I’m missing something when I don’t get out of them.

It’s truly not the pajamas that limit me, but the pain and fatigue, and when it strikes, depression, and anxiety come too. It is what the pajamas represent that’s important here. And truly, I am so thankful that I have been spending more time gussied up in recent months. It feels good to get pretty, to put on a pair of boots, do my make-up and fix my hair. But even still, on average, my pajamas get more play time than I do. This may just be par for the course in chronic illness, do you spend a lot of time in your pj’s too?

I wonder though, if this is the year that I will get out of my pajamas more frequently? Certainly it must. I’ve seen some great pajamas come and go, but I think I would rather wear a hole in some jeans or wear out a pair of tennis shoes from all of the exercise I’ve been doing. What’s it going to take for me to see less of my pajamas and more of the other clothes that actually hang in my closet? What will it take to get you out of your jammies?

I have had some pretty serious headaches lately, knocking me for a loop and making life feel dark and dismal. But I tell you what, I’ve got some choices to make. I can be proactive and look for what’s causing my headaches and look for remedies as well, or I can just continue to wear out these pink polka dot pajamas. I think I am going to go with option number one, because these pajamas just aren’t looking as pretty as they did before.

21 thoughts on “My Life in Pajamas

  1. Thanks for you and your excellent blog. I like it very much.
    Blessed Day and Blessed and Happy 2011,

    Best wishes,
    Avi

  2. I can totally put myself in your place. This year I have spent more time in pajamas than outside clothes. It is reflection on just how isolating long term chronic illness, like depression can impact people. It is nice to know I am not alone in my pajamas.

  3. What you wrote is oh-so-true! Lounging in comfy PJs (fleece is my favorite) is wonderful, but when I’m all dolled up I feel good in a different way – more vibrant. I think the easiest way for to commit to getting fully “ready” (makeup, cute outfit) is to have made plans with friends to meet up. Sometimes I don’t feel like getting ready the day of, but I always do and end up having lots of fun!

    When I thought back about my own favorite PJs I had the epiphany that the first time I had true favorites was the second year I had fibromyalgia. I also have to add that it is so funny that you mentioned putting a hole in a pair of jeans – I just wore a pair out so thin that a hole appeared last month!

    • Thank you so much for visiting, reading and commenting Felicia! Kudos to you for wearing a hole in your jeans, I think that means you’re living life and enjoying it when you can! I love how you described what it feels like when we get “dolled up”… “more vibrant”, that describes it so perfectly. So many days I spend in my pajamas and don’t feel as alive a I would like to… just putting myself together a little bit, even if not fancy or perfectly coordinated changes my frame of mind. I feel like I am more available for life’s experiences or whatever the day may bring. Today, I am out of my pajamas and I am really happy just for that. Sometimes it’s the little things that make a huge difference!

      I also agree that making plans forces us to do more, to get ready and get out. I find it hard to commit to plans at times, but when I do, I am always glad that I did!

  4. OK – I thought I was the ONLY one who felt the comforting affects of pjs! As soon as I would come home from work – I would “whip off” my street clothes for the loosening, soothing pair of cotton pjs. Is it the security, the safeness, the no one can touch me in my space? I think I have learned that I expend too much energy (negative, being someone I’m not) while I’m working (am currently unemployed and enjoying staying in my pjs) and going against my grain, that when I am in the comfort of my pjs I can be me, with my books, my thoughts, my santuary, my home.
    I don’t think I will ever NOT feel this way, but I have to control it more — I have semi-grown kids!
    Just part and parcel of fighting depressive thoughts … one must find comfort where one can!

    • Definitely important to find comfort where you can, and like anything, it’s about balance! Having a sanctuary, that includes wearing pj’s is nothing to feel bad about!

    • I am glad you could relate Pam! I look forward to reading your post. I think that there are many of us who spend a lot of time in our pajamas, perhaps far too much time in them? I do love my pajamas, though! It just represents so much more in my life than wearing clothes for bed, it’s about the changes that have occurred due to illness as well as the changes that I want to make. =)

  5. I own far more jammie type clothing than real street clothes! haha! I ‘pretend’ that some of them are in fact not jammies, however we all know that they really are! haha! But I agree, I spend far too much time in them and not out doing things that require real clothing. I wish I had the energy to shop for some real clothes, let alone a reason to wear them! 🙂

  6. Yeah I live in PJs too. Clothes are actually painful for me, so they are ripped off quickly after my rare outings to doctors or E.R. Just wish I looked more presentable when people came. I need to invent really super comfortable clothes that look very put together during the day too. Penlady from twitter, Bluebirdy from here. New years resolution to start working on blog again.

    • Thank you so much for your comments and compliments! I can’t tell you how many times I have looked at childrens’ clothes and thought, if only they would make such cute and comfortable clothes for adults, so we could all be comfy! I am sorry for the pain that you endure, in your case, I think it’s okay to be in your jammies as much as you need to!

  7. I can really relate to your post. I found clothes to be very uncomfortable and usually wear pj’s or yoga clothes at home. Unfortunately, I have been home most of the time other than for appointments because my health has declined over the last few years. I would love to find comfortable clothes to wear out, because I realized if I had an opportunity to go out and felt up to it I would have nothing appropriate to wear. I am looking for all the comfortable cool looking outfits I can and I plan to make a page of what I find and links to websites where you can buy them. Your pjs are very cute! Thank you for posting interesting topics! Deb

    • Oh, that would be so wonderful… your page with links for comfy clothes!!! I love it!
      Thanks for sharing here, I think this is something a lot of us with chronic pain and fibro can relate to. I really appreciate your comments. I look forward to visiting you at fibrofabulousdiva.com. Amy

  8. White Flower Oil (embrocation.50webs.com) was introduced to me by my mother. During one of my headaches, she gave me this tiny bottle of oil and told me to massage it on my temples and forehead. Amazingly, it worked! Somehow the oil penetrates into the affected area and relieves the pain.

  9. I am at peace with spending most of my life in pajamas. I have been chronically ill since 2003, with a Lupus diagnosis in 2008 finally making it impossible to work any more.

    I am at a point in my life where I don’t even want to go out any more because of the exhaustion backlash. I have not stopped looking to better myself. Right now I am trying CoQ10 in hopes of getting some energy back.

    When I do my laundry every week, most of it is my pajamas. I have Victoria Secret flannels, which though expensive, are cute and last forever.

    I do go out on occasions that involve my son; school functions, haircuts, school shopping, trips to a museum in a wheelchair. I do it for him, and I do get joy out of it but I feel like Hell afterwards and it sometimes takes me two days to recover.

    When you have about 10 diseases and conditions, you kind of have to make peace that most of your life will be spent in your p.j.s

    Sorry if this comment was so depressing. Your post was very positive and well written.

  10. It’s funny how pj’s can go both ways. When I’m exhausted and mentally and emotionally wrecked, crawling into comfy pyjamas is one of the most amazing things in the world. But if I’ve been wearing them too much and I feel down and dark, taking a shower and getting dressed does wonders, even if I still never leave the house. (Sometimes, just putting on a bra can help!) I find myself obsessing over cute pyjamas but very hesitant to buy them, and I think that you may have put your finger on the psychology of why I feel that way- it’s what the pyjamas represent. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

