A Random Act of Fun

I woke up the other morning like I do most mornings, groggy, already lethargic, stiff and aching. It’s just kind of par for the course. Some days I am able to get moving and feel so much better once I do. Some days it is all I can do just to get through it… most days I do get through it fine and although I don’t accomplish all of the things I wish I had, I do accomplish things.

I had been having a pretty rough go of it lately. Lots of lethargy and fatigue, feeling depressed, and a lot of headaches, too. When I woke on Saturday morning I was not feeling all that optimistic. I felt achy and sluggish. Then my sister-in-law texted me and asked if I was ready to have a photo shoot! We had talked about doing this for a while as I have been wanting to get some new pics for my blog, social media profiles, etc. I hesitated for a moment, and then I went ahead and said YES!

By the time I had myself all made-up, dressed, hair and make-up done, I felt ready to have some fun and enjoy myself. I played some spunky music on my way to the location and I was feeling like a completely different person than I had just a couple of hours ago. I felt full of life and energy, I felt excited to just be me.

The fact that I felt so different led me to wonder how much of how I feel sometimes is directly related to my environment and my outlook on the day ahead? Before I had something ahead of me that I was really looking forward to participating in, I felt like the day ahead was going to be hard, laborious, and definitely not fun. I didn’t feel well, I really didn’t believe that I would feel well all day. But once I got moving, and put some enthusiasm into my mindset, I felt so much better.

Of coarse, I was tired after a couple of hours of playing! I needed a nap later. I needed to take a couple of pain relievers and take it easier the rest of the day, but I had really enjoyed my day far more than I had anticipated that morning. I can’t help but be curious, how much do I limit myself when I wake, before the day even begins? Each day seems to start out feeling icky… but what might I be able to overcome if I push through it? I believe the answer is far more than I often think I can.

I certainly don’t recommend doing anything that would cause you pain or create greater discomfort for you, but I believe for me, I often don’t see the possibility of what the day could hold because of the way I feel when I first wake up… perhaps my days have a lot more in store for me than I ever thought they could?

Not every day is filled with fun or opportunities to get all glammed up, but there are opportunities within each day. Although I am not always sure what they are, I believe they are truly out there.

 

Photo by Christine Nichole Photography.

 

14 thoughts on “A Random Act of Fun

  1. It’s kinda like playing dress up when you were a little girl…remember how much fun it was, I know I do? Glad you had a good time and a good day, great picture!

    • Thank you so much!

      It is like playing dress up… I think those moments in life that are most like reliving childhood are the most precious and exhilarating!

      • Hi Amy, i just read on FB and went to your blog which I have not seen before. I wanted to give you some support in that I have had migraine headaches, a diagnosis of fibro and many other issues related to the aging process I guess. I have always had to have a plan for “tomorrow” in order to make me have a “better” day. Taking depositions and listening to all of peoples’ problems does not help. I have always felt that I had no choice because I had two children that depended on me. Not being able to get up and get a drink of water or going to the bathroom when you needed to was very exhausting and frustrating. Ron and I have found Eiro Research and we both feel one of their products has helped greatly. It is their juice. I didn’t feel a difference for maybe two months. It is completely natural and is comprised of five superfruits. It is a net work marketing company but I am not telling you for that reason. I just thought maybe you would want to check out my website and read about the products agnello.ieiro.com. Let me know if I can be of help!

      • Thank you Cathy!
        I know you have dealt with a lot of similar health issues. The kids certainly are a huge reason for moving forward, they keep me going and give me fuel for life. I think someone mentioned something to me about this line you are representing. Thank you for mentioning it to me, I know you only want for my health and happiness! I appreciate you taking the time to read my post and mention it to me. I miss you!

  2. Great picture!
    I know what you mean. I can have several days of feeling like crud, but the next morning I know I have somewhere to go, I wake up anticipating and looking forward to with it with some energy. I think it is somewhat in our head, not ALL in our head, but what our thoughts are do play a part in how we feel. I know I can sometimes feel an *Eeyore* feeling coming over me, I have to make myself snap out of it. I find something that can bring me out, music, or going outdoors, a little time on twitter, and I will usually feel better, whereas in the past I would nurse those negative feelings and end up holing up in the bed for a day or two!
    Bernice
    My latest post- How does your faith affect your ability to cope?

    • Thanks so much for sharing. I know that “Eeyore” feeling too well, and it is important to make a concerted effort to do something to life our spirits. Living with health challenges and/or chronic mental health challenges can make it seemimpossible at times to do that, but if we keep trying we find that we do have some sense of control, more often than we think. (some days, some moments, I really need to be reminded that I believe that!)

      I am a firm believer in the interconnectedness of everything. Our mental health is not separate from our physical health, in my opinion, but sometimes one part is more “out of balance” than the other, if you will. That being said, rarely do we ever know exact causation and we just have to do the best that we can to put things back in balance!

      Thank you so much for commenting and sharing.
      I look forward to reading your most recent post!
      Amy

  3. the winter is so tough to get out of bed! have you read the happiness project? something about this post reminds me of it–she writes about pretending that she feels energetic and it actually changed her energy level. love the dress up photo idea! i’ll have to find some of our great dress up photos from long, long ago!

    • Oh, the Winter is hard.

      I have read some of the happiness project, made a few visits to the blog/site. I will have to revisit! Our intentions and attitudes make such a difference, like our focus on gratitude, as I so often see you focusing on…I try to focus on gratitude, too. It really does matter. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. I would love to see some of our old dress up pics… so fun. =)

      I believe that going back to our child-like play can really help us to find the joy that is still in every day living, the kind that we forget is still available to us!

  4. That’s so awesome. A photo shoot would be so much fun and I love the picture you posted! There are so many times that I have said yes to something that I didn’t want to do and ended up having the

  5. That’s so awesome. A photo shoot would be so much fun and I love the picture you posted! There are so many times that I have said yes to something that I didn’t want to do (because I’m too depressed) and I have ended up having the best time. Sometimes getting out, making the most of opportunities and experiencing life energizes me. Even if I need a nap later in the day too 🙂

    • Thank you Jamie! Sometimes we have to get out there and do it, whatever it is, even if we don’t want to… take that chance that it might be just what we needed, right? ❤

  6. I can totally relate to what you have posted! Once I get out of bed and get ready, I feel SO much better. (Most days) Once I’m actually at work and moving, I really start to feel better.

    There’s something about getting going that keeps us going. If you asked me how my day was going to go ten minutes before I got out of bed each day, I would say it was going to be rough. I just don’t like getting up and MOVING. But, once I do, I almost always feel better. Oh, and then there’s that hour nap I take every day after work that keeps me going in the evening! 🙂

  7. Amy,

    The picture is just too cute!!! Good going!

    I try to get dressed in the morning and do something that makes me feel really good, even if that means just eating breakfast out of pretty dishes from a sparkly clean kitchen, or putting on a piece of special jewelry. That always does loads to make me feel worthy of fun. I would love to take some time out to play tho! It’s been a rough week, but I know that this too shall pass. We’re adjusting my thyroid meds and I think I went much too low for a while. The joint pain actually got better (I’m in an osteoclastic phase I need to break before my bones do), but the rest of me is not so hot – especially the headaches… they’re killer right now. I have lots to be enthusiastic about though, and it’s so great to have you as a friend!! I would love to have been a fly on the wall to see you guys have so much fun!!! ❤

    • Oh, I am so sorry that you are struggling and going through so much lately! I just hate to think of you in all that discomfort and pain! (((gentle hugs)))
      You would have laughed a lot if you had been there, at the photo shoot, I know I did. =) Mornings are my hardest time of day, most days it doesn’t even occur to me to be proactive until I come out of my fog… sometimes that can take hours. I love how you describe beginning your day with pretty dishes or special jewelry. That sounds like just the right thing to do! ❤

Leave a Reply

