The Tougher Choice: Don’t Give Up

It would be so easy for me to write a post about all that is on my mind and troubling my heart. It would be just like me to dwell in a bit of self-pity right now, but I have to do something different. I don’t know how I am going to go to sleep tonight without a few more tears, but I know this…I have to keep trying, keep putting one foot in front of the other and do my very best to get healthier.

It’s so hard when you feel like you just want to quit, throw your arms up in the air and say “I’m done! I give up!” But I believe it may be even harder to look at yourself in the mirror and ask, “What can I do differently to make tomorrow a better day?” As much as I would like to point the finger at external sources of pain and frustration, all I’ve got to work with is me… Amy. I am the only one that can call the shots for me, I am the only one that can put in the extra effort, make the lifestyle changes, and do the work that needs to be done to be the best me I can be. Ugh… that sucks!

But, in truth, it is empowering. I have power to make a difference. I have the power to make life more enjoyable, to find ways to be healthier and more in tune with myself… mind, body and spirit. So when I wake tomorrow, I will remind myself of this post, remind myself of the choices I can make and I will choose to at least do one thing differently tomorrow, to at least do one thing to better my life and my circumstances. I won’t give up.

What will you do? Are you looking in the mirror and encouraging yourself to make better choices because you can? Or are you pointing the finger elsewhere? (It’s okay, we all want to.)

P.S. Before I sleep tonight, I will remind myself that no matter what, I am loved by my Creator. He is proud of me, no matter how many times I don’t “do it right”, He is still cheering for me and believing in me. For that I am so grateful.  Whatever your beliefs, I believe you, too, are loved.

For some extra inspiration check out:  “Don’t Give Up (You are Loved)” by Josh Groban. I picked it out just for you (and me!).

13 thoughts on “The Tougher Choice: Don’t Give Up

  1. Many thanks.
    Your helps to me today because I wanted truly to “give up”.
    But I will follow with more Hope.

    Thanks again

  2. I like what you said about choosing something different, and not giving up. This is a very encouraging post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this topic. Sometimes I do want to throw my hands in the air, and say enough is enough. I do my best to remember how far I have come, and how much my life has changed, and how it can continue to change – for the better. So I hold on for another day, and do not give up.

    • That’s the best we can do… hold on, remember where we’ve come, and don’t give up! I am glad you found the post encouraging Melissa, that means the world to me.

  3. I watched a video that explained that today is commonly called “Blue Monday”, which I never knew, and it has a lot to do with the weather – cold temps, gray skies. Thankfully, where I live, it was a beautiful day – warmer weather, sunny skies, and I had a social event this afternoon. Very uplifting. There are always better days around the corner. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Katherine! What I know is that we all have strength inside us that is sometimes very difficult to see or feel. Giving up is not an option, even when that is what I may feel like doing at times!
      Thank you so very much for your kindness…Hugs back!
      Amy

  4. Great blog! I think we all have these days of feeling like giving up. I know I sure do! Reminding yourself that there are good days helps, but only sometimes. I hope your morning reminder worked! I remind myself daily that I am indeed the only one that can attempt to control what happens to me. Sometimes I’d just like some help! 😉 thank you for the very inspirational blog! I needed it today too!

Leave a Reply

