Just catching up…

Swirling a Mystery
Image by qthomasbower via Flickr

I post a lot about specific topics here, or share a particular challenge I am having, or try to be inspirational now and then, but it’s been a long time since I just told you what was going on with me and my life. I thought now is as good of a time as any to catch you up!

Really, I am pretty busy, even if it is all in my mind or inside my home, I feel busy.

My kids are growing and changing and challenging me in ways I didn’t know they would or could and I’m afraid it’s just going to keep on going like that! The are in 5th grade and kindergarten and there is always something going on in both. I did sign up to be a room parent this year for the kindergarten class and I am fairly certain the other room parents are wondering why I did because I am always the one pitching in at the last minute.

I am loving my work as a Community Leader at WEGO Health. I am busier than ever with my work, so if my blog posts seem to be tapering a bit, that is why. Never fear though, I will not disappear. (Kind of funny, I’m not sure how very many would notice if I did, but for the handful of my devoted readers I am most grateful!) I post a lot at WEGO Health in a variety of health communities including Depression, Fibromyalgia, Mental Health, ADHD and Women’s Health, so come visit me there, too!

I am proud to say that I am now a board member of the newly forming Kansas City Chapter of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. We had a great meeting this past weekend and I am thrilled to be a part of the foundation of this new chapter. This is a cause and an organization I feel most passionate about supporting, so it is with a happy heart that I join this endeavor and commit myself to it!

Una Vita Bella – The Community is growing, slowly but surely, and more participation is evolving. I’ve added new groups and I’m gaining more direction. I am still thinking I’m might be flopping around like a fish a bit as the network creator/community manager, but you know… I’m juggling a lot at the moment, so I’ll give myself some slack.

I’ve begun to cook more, which has been a lot of fun. It doesn’t come naturally to me, I have this bizarre need to do everything “just right”. I am a recipe girl and I want to make sure I follow the instructions precisely. So, I’m working on being a little more brave in the kitchen… using new spices, less direction, and I am either calling my friend Rebecca or my mom quite frequently around dinner time to ask what to do next! By the way, I have learned, it is a lot of fun to make a mess in the kitchen, but no so much fun to clean it all up. I have also learned that I need new knives and cookware please. I have a long way to go before I am able to just throw something together on a regular basis, but like most things… it’s a process and I am enjoying the process.

The Mental Health and Social Media Chat on Twitter (#mhsm) is going strong (Tuesday nights at 9pm Eastern), and most of the credit goes to Cindy @NAMIMass for keeping it going. As I am unable to host the chats on a regular basis, she is our main moderator and does an awesome job. I was happy to moderate a couple of weeks in December, it felt good to be back in the moderator seat and it is so fabulous when I get to participate and interact with everyone involved. A post I wrote about the chat was featured on the NAMI Mass blog recently, I hope you will check it out so that you can learn more about the chat and how it started! You can check out our page on Facebook, too, right here.

Hmmm…what else is going on in my life? Did I mention kids? Yes, I did. They are the most wonderful icing on top of the cake and the yummy delicious cake itself, they are enough to keep me plenty busy, but… I also have a lot of personal goals and ambitions that are always swirling through my mind. I want to do so much and I know that I will…in time. First thing I have to tackle is this health thing, getting my mind and body as healthy as I can, which, we all know, can be a huge challenge. I simply must get this body in motion more often and put healthy things in it. So, suffice it to say, I don’t think I’ll be taking on any more projects at the moment. I’ve got plenty to keep me busy!

I hope you enjoyed catching up with me. Writing it all out helps me to understand why I feel so busy all of the time, I truly am!

4 thoughts on “Just catching up…

  1. How do you do it all?!? You’re such a busy woman and an inspiration to many. Thank you for all you do in the depression community!

    • Thank you Jamie! That is so kind of you. Some days I feel like I am doing little, some days I feel like I am drowning. Most days, I wish I could do more!

  2. Girl, I hear ya about the kids. Some days I feel like I’m missing their lives being on the computer, other days I feel like their lives are running me. I’m room mom this year for 1st grade and it keeps me busier than ever. I never realized how hard it was to rally volunteers. OY!
    Hang in there with cooking! Once you get going it gets in your blood. I love cooking. I just wish I had more time to do it.

    • I know, if I could count how many times I’ve felt guilty for my online activities and activism because it takes time away from the kids, but then… I know that what I am doing is important too. It’s a very tough balance to find for sure! Room parenting can be a lot of work, too. Three cheers for the volunteers at school, they really do make it all happen!

Leave a Reply

