I Will Live

About a year ago (or more?) I purchased a book, that I had eyed for many months prior, because just the name of the book itself embraced everything that I am about and want to be about. It is titled: I Will Not Die an Unlived Life (Reclaiming Purpose and Passion) by Dawna Markova.

This alone could be (is) my mantra for daily living and perhaps I will work harder to remind myself of it! But what I remember clearly is the gift that lies inside the book at the very beginning and I want to share it with you here. It inspires me greatly, touches my heart and soul and speaks through me, hopefully to you as well.

 

Living Wide Open:

Landscapes of the Mind

I will not die an unlived life.

I will not live in fear

of falling or catching fire.

I choose to inhabit my days,

to allow my living to open me,

to make me less afraid,

more accessible;

to loosen my heart

until it becomes a wing,

a torch, a promise.

I choose to risk my significance,

to live so that which came to me as a seed

goes to the next as blossom,

and that which came to me as blossom,

goes on as fruit.

-Dawna Markova

 

4 thoughts on “I Will Live

  1. Thank you for sharing that powerful, and inspiring piece from the book. I am going to write that out as the first piece in my new inspiration journal. A journal devoted to inspiring thoughts and words — of others and/or my own. For now, it will be a paper journal; sometime, maybe I’ll make it an electronic one.

    • I think the rest of the contents inside seem promising as well! Definitely worth the buy just for the poem itself. =) Thank you so much for visiting and commenting!

Leave a Reply

