Finding My Way

I have to admit, I’ve been feeling a little lost recently. Everything has changed in my life, and yet some things remain the same. The need to care for my children, my health and to provide financially are the mainstays, living beautifully while doing it all is my mantra. Since finding out that my main source of income would come to a halt effective June 30th, (not to mention work that I have felt very passionate about) I feel a bit like I am wandering.

I know I am capable of good and great things. I know that the world needs what I can offer, but finding the right fit and an opportunity that will allow me to shine is the trick.

It hasn’t been that long since I told you about a job search I was on, and now I am back at it again. I am happy to say that my previous employer let me go as part of a change in business plans, not because of any personal detriment. I know they are on my side. But it still feels a little lonely out here. Wandering… looking for my way.

My passion for health activism and advocacy, my love of social media and my desire to become a more educated individual all helps me to feel empowered during this time. I believe that my skills and experience will take me somewhere wonderful, but it is challenging to know where to begin the search, it is hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel, although I know it is there.

I thought I had things all mapped out. I had obtained a second job, I have been able to work from home. I was working on getting into a groove. Then boom, in an instant, everything changes. That’s the way it works for us all usually. Our lives and journeys take on a whole new direction at a moment’s notice. Just when we think we’ve got it all figured out, right? So, it’s back to the question of how we deal with it.

I’m coping. I’m searching. I am looking for direction. Meanwhile I am looking for ways to enjoy the small moments when I can. I am relishing in the fact that while I don’t feel fabulous every day, I am feeling pretty darn good. Stress is certainly taking it’s toll, but I am, all in all, doing okay. Even in the midst of hardship I have enjoyed some great personal victories. I celebrate those and fully enjoy those moments of feeling good about me.

While I am here looking for my way, managing my health, the health of my children, and keeping a level of “normalcy” in tact, I am completely open to receiving a map, a guide, or even a job offer. So, don’t be shy… feel free to share. (Smile.)

6 thoughts on “Finding My Way

  1. Just off the top, some suggestions re working/contributing to various communities. Although volunteer work doesn’t bring in money, it makes you think of what areas you would like to work in/have the desire, determination, and skills. You might meet someone through these activities (in the virtual or real world) that can lead to a paying position. All volunteer organizations are hurting for money these days; it would provide you with more knowledge, and the sense that you are making a difference.

    Non-profit orgs, while not high paying jobs, can be very rewarding. As a health advocate, perhaps there is some organization looking for someone with your experience and understanding.
    There are jobs can writing on line articles; helping to represent communities, prepare presentations and proposals.

    Maybe you have an idea to make you self employed; the internet makes it easier, I think, out there are a variety internet-based jobs. I think there are even no-profits who provide cash and small loans to get folks started.

    You are an amazing writer; perhaps you could turn your experiences and blogs into a book to help women who find themselves in the same situation. You could include essays from other women dealing with being chronics.

    Some academic education institutes assist single mothers who face health and other issues. There even are some online legit (not scam) courses as part of the universities’ ciriculumn.

    Good luck! Hope this door closing swings open a French door with stained glass pains and shafts of light.

    • Thank you so very much for taking the time to share thoughts and ideas that could be really helpful to me right now! I greatly appreciate it. =) It was a real treat to find your comment here and with so much great advice and support.
      I sure hope you are doing well. You make a difference in my life!
      Thank you,
      Amy

  2. Wow, Amy! I hear how you just got a gut bomb with the news of the job ending. And with the numerous changes in your life recently, I’m sure that news was extra disorienting. I’ve been in a similar place recently where I know I’m supposed to step out, but I’m not sure in what direction or what that path will look like. A friend mentioned a Bible verse that he vaguely remembered. “Speak Lord, your servant is listening.” It really resonated for me – I didn’t know which way to go, so knowing God would provide, my best course for the moment was to just listen.

    Yes, you are capable of good and great things. Yes, the world greatly needs what you have to offer. Be of good cheer, knowing that you will hear your answer and find your place to serve.

    I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers,
    Dan

    • Hi Dan,
      Disorienting is right! Thank you for sharing what you are going through as well. We are all on this journey together, it is awesome to be able to glean wisdom from our friends and fellow travelers. I appreciate so much your prayers, words of support and encouragement.
      Amy

  3. Oh, Amy, I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this blow on top of everything else.

    Even though I know how much you have to offer the patient community, I also know it’s scary to have what little security you had pulled out from under you and that it will take a while to get another plan in place under even the best circumstances. Sending good thoughts while you navigate yet another change.

  4. I’m very sorry to hear about what happened to your job. But the previous comments are true. You are talented and surely, that will count for something and eventually propel you forward. Opportunities will come just you wait. 🙂

    If ever you need some cheering up, I recommend to you this book I read recently. It’s all about getting past your life’s hurdles and changing things for the better. [http://www.howtostopselfsabotage.com]

    Again, don’t worry. I’m sure you’ll get a call, or an email, or an inspired idea soon enough. God bless!

Leave a Reply

