Hello Good Friend

Butterfly Sunday
Image by Big Grey Mare via Flickr

It has been so long since I have written, I am unsure of whether or not to even try… I am unsure of who I will write for anymore. I suppose, as it all began, I am writing for me.

My absence has felt so long, but all the while I have thought of my blog like a good friend that I let down by disappearing into the whirlwind of this life. I have thought of you, my readers, I have thought of myself, the pieces of me that I left here open, breathing, sometimes seeming lifeless but always still alive in my words. I have wondered if I could ever return, for what I feel like I have been facing these last few months seems more than I can reveal to the world, feels more secret than any of the secrets I have shared here before.

Writing is me and by beginning to write again I am coming back into myself, something long overdue. When I stopped writing, coincidentally, it was at the same time my life began to twist and turn and warp itself into something I never imagined it could become.  And here I am now, striving to reclaim the me that I was, the me that I am to become, all that I am and all that I can be.

Like what occurs at the coming of Spring, I am coming back to life. I am pushing myself through the cold hard ground that is beginning to thaw inside me, pushing through the emotional binding I gradually wrapped too tightly around myself these last few months. I hope to burst through these layers soon, to pop out of my cocoon and for my vibrant colors to shine brightly again, to shine with the luster of renewal.

13 thoughts on “Hello Good Friend

  1. Amy – I’m so glad to see you writing again – was worried but had a feeling that you were working it out yourself – wishing you nothing but strength and happiness in 2012
    Neil

  2. Amy, I have missed you…David and I are always keeping you in our thoughts and prayers and love you very much.

  3. I am glad to see you visible again. You will make it. I think all of us go through some type of major withdrawal from time to time. We all crawl inside ourselves and look around and ask ourselves who we really are and what we are really doing. I think it is safe to say that you have friends who understand and welcome you back in whatever state you can muster and will hold your hand and help you climb back out at your pace and comfort. I am one of those friends… and I still feel your smile, even if you sometimes aren’t sure where you misplaced it. Your sun will shine brightly again soon. I will be looking for the glow. Hugs.

  4. Amy – it is so great to hear from you again! I didn’t know if you’d stepped back or I was missing you because I wasn’t around as much. 🙂 Wow – sounds like your healing journey has taken a major turn. I know you’ll find the right way to work through it, and if possible, share about it. Keep writing, Amy, I guess is the bottom line!

  5. Amy O . My precious. Reading your words…I know you are breatheing again. ….and …then …that means…that so am I.
    I love you so much.
    Mama

  6. Like you I am just returning to blogging after a long absence, so I know how you feel. I too felt like I had abandoned an old friend, I too missed writing. I had different reasons than you for my absence, but anyways, I am back and delighted to see some super mental health blogs, like yours so I have linked to your blog from my blog. I have subscribed and I will be back for a visit soon!

  7. “I have thought of you, my readers, I have thought of myself, the pieces of me that I left here open, breathing, sometimes seeming lifeless but always still alive in my words. I have wondered if I could ever return, for what I feel like I have been facing these last few months seems more than I can reveal to the world, feels more secret than any of the secrets I have shared here before”

    I love this description, i have felt the exact same way about blogging. Thanks for putting my feelings into words.

Leave a Reply

